Boquete water contamination

NewsLady

Dear Boquete friends,

I am also concerned with the contaminated water situation. 

My background is in microbiology and immunology.  I worked in the area of researching infectious diseases as well as managing the laboratories that I worked in for over 15 years.  I also taught microbiology at the universities where I worked.  I have hands on experience using and selling Reverse Osmosis systems for water purification and using Ultra-violet systems for disinfection.

Unfortunately with the coliform load currently in the water, a reverse osmosis system will be overwhelmed and may allow microbes through or fragments of the microbes, which can also make an individual sick.  
Ultra-violet systems offer no protection against parasites, especially their eggs.  With the current coliform load in the water, again, UV systems may be overwhelmed.

We know that the local government is not known for moving quickly to solve problems.  And I think this situation with the water will be another example of this.

So in the interim, the best protection for an individual is to take your filtered or UV irradiated water and add an extra step:

Boil your water on the stove in a pot (with the lid on) for a minimum of 20 minutes.  The 20 minute countdown starts when the water starts to boil.

For 1 gallon (or about 4 liters) of water - minimum boiling time is 20 minutes.

If your pot is holds more than 1 gallon (or 4 liters) of water, for every extra 1 liter of water, add another 10 minutes to the boiling time.

Allow this water to cool and use this water for drinking, food preparation, cleaning your teeth - basically use this boiled water for anything that goes into your mouth.  I would even go to the extent of using this water to wash your hands.

The amount time for boiling is extremely important.  The boiling step will kill parasites and their eggs and it will also destroy the proteins in the microbe fragments that make you sick.