CranioSacral Therapy and Somatic Exercise.

NewsLady

"Recently I once again began doing Upledger CranioSacral Therapy. In the states I was a licensed Massage Therapist in Florida for 30 years. The last style of therapeutic touch I performed was CranioSacral. It is an extremely gentle hands- on therapy created by the late John Upledger, an Osteopathic physician. Dr. John founded the Upledger Institute based in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, which conducts seminars world-wide. Several years ago, pre-quarantine, I took my fourth training re-Certifying me to do the 10 Step Protocol in San Jose, Costa Rica."

The 10 Step Protocol is very specific and can be likened to energy work. However, it is different from Reiki and similar modalities, in that it is scientifically based and very specific. 
Its purpose is to balance and relax the central nervous system to catalyze the Cranial Sacral System's natural healing ability. It is the opposite of deep tissue massage whose objective is to "fix" the body by force. The healing objective of CranioSacral is to strengthen the flow of Cranial Sacral fluid within the spine and cranium through deep relaxation and naturally opening to healing and change. It is very meditative and requires sensitivity on the part of both the receiver and practitioner. The recipient is comfortably clothed, oils or lotions are not used, and the touch of the practitioner is extremely light [a nickel's weight of pressure] and non-invasive. The total body is involved in the session, but hand positions on the spine and head are the primary focus.