This is an op-ed piece reprinted from LaPrensa yesterday on education in Panama.

http://www.newsroompanama.com/news/panama/media-watch-back-to-school-and-the-burden-of-ignorance

I think many people fail to realize that this is a relatively young country with a relatively young culture when they criticize local folks for not understanding a communication or a task they might consider to be simple.

Most of us with European or Oriental heritage for example, including many Panamanians, have the benefit of knowledge, customs, and manners which were spawned over many centuries of civilization. However, that just isn't the case with many folks in and around rural areas such as Boquete.

The interesting thing here is that WE PANAMANIANS are autocritics of our own educational system and government policies on education.  

I studied in a Public School in the 60's and 70's where there was still a good system, good and dedicated teachers not involved in politics.  I can regret the knowledge and culture they gave me.  Those days of high quality education in public schools are gone....  I got my degree in a private university because the Universidad de Panama was highly involved into politics and lost a lot of classes because of strikes and demonstrations on the streets.